Thursday, May 17, 2012


The Legacy of Aaron Copland is an eclectic collection of works written by the great American composer Aaron Copland. Regarded as the "dean of American music", Copland's works are said to evoke the limitless American landscape as they achieve a difficult balance between modern music and American Folk styles.

Copland's goal was to fill "musical needs created by historical events". The United States Army Field Band Soldiers' Chorus, led on this album by Col. Finley R. Hamilton, has made it a point to present musical excellence and inspire patriotism. The versatility of the members helps make the Chorus one of the most prestigious music organizations in the world.

The Legacy of Aaron Copland features some of Copland's greatest works including "Stomp Your Foot" and "Simple Gifts". This recording is a beautifully educational and entertaining compilation of some of Aaron Copland's work performed by the United States Army Field Band Soldiers' Chorus.

Selections from The Tender Land (trans. Thomas Duffy)
1 Stomp Your Foot 3:06
2 The Promise of Living 5:09
3 Lark 4:07

Old American Songs: Set One (trans. William Silvester)
4 The Boatmen's Dance 2:43
5 The Dodger 2:06
6 Long Time Ago 2:46
7 Simple Gifts 1:17
8 I Bought Me a Cat 2:22

Four Motets
9 Help Us, O Lord 3:05
10 Thou, O Jehovah, Abideth Forever 2:04
11 Have Mercy on Us, O My Lord 4:14
12 Sing Ye Praises to Our King 1:33

13 Las Agachadas 3:26

Old American Songs: Set Two (trans. William Silvester)
14 The Little Horses 2:44
15 Zion's Walls 1:49
16 The Golden Willow Tree 3:37
17 At the River 2:42
18 Ching-a-Ring Chaw 1:37

19 Canticle of Freedom (trans. Thomas Duffy) 13:32

United States Army Field Band Soldiers’ Chorus
Finley R. Hamilton, conductor; Robert A. McCormick, director
Recorded August, 1999 at Devers Hall. Fort George G. Meade, Maryland


Scoredaddy said...


Scoresdecine said...

Marvelous!! Thanks!

flurb said...

"The Promise of Living" never fails to move me to tears. Lovely. Thank you!